Login  Register
 



Post new topicReply to topic
 
Author Message
 PostPosted: 24 Jan, 2013 
 

Joined: 04 Jun, 2011
Posts: 154
Offline
I've figured out how to make a 'traitor' out of a Cybran unit and convert it from Cybran to UEF by simply replacing a block of blueprint code called 'category'. After having done that, now I'd like to change it's color or paint (is this what you'd call the 'texture') to something closer to a UEF's colors.

How do I start? Can someone point me to the right direction or the right message thread in the forum. There's too many of them which makes selection of which to read first difficult. Better yet, can you just mention what software I should use, and which file(s) would be involved?

Thank you.

Edit: this message should probably be moved to the other forum on texturing, modeling and animation.


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: 28 Jan, 2013 
 

Joined: 21 May, 2008
Posts: 716
Offline
Files involved :

mainly Albedo maybe a bit of SpecTeam

program: photoshop, paint.net

You will have to redo the Albedo file.


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: 31 Jan, 2013 
 

Joined: 04 Jun, 2011
Posts: 154
Offline
Krapougnak wrote:
Files involved :

mainly Albedo maybe a bit of SpecTeam

program: photoshop, paint.net

You will have to redo the Albedo file.


Thanks, but:

1. I tried opening the Albedo.dds file with Photoshop CS5.1 but it told me that it was not the right kind of file and it did not open it.

2. I googled paint.net and checked to their website. It's about house paint?


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: 31 Jan, 2013 
 
User avatar

Joined: 16 Jan, 2010
Posts: 2997
Location: Draconis VII
Offline
Photoshop needs a DDS Plug-in for DDS files to work.

And when looking up paint.net, you have to be careful which one you look at.
http://www.getpaint.net/

Third link when I looked on google...Didnt look very hard.


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: 31 Jan, 2013 
 

Joined: 04 Jun, 2011
Posts: 154
Offline
brandon007 wrote:
Photoshop needs a DDS Plug-in for DDS files to work.

And when looking up paint.net, you have to be careful which one you look at.
http://www.getpaint.net/

Third link when I looked on google...Didnt look very hard.


Thank you Brandon007. Next step? I read several guides and tutorials previously and did not realized after wasting time that the tutorial was for other versions of Supreme Commander and that I was barking up the wrong tree. Can you point me to a specific message thread or tutorial that applies to FA?


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: 01 Feb, 2013 
 
Forum Scout
Forum Scout
User avatar

Joined: 02 Mar, 2007
Posts: 9033
Location: Ninja Editing Your Post from a Canadian IPhone
Offline
Man, I keep forgetting about this thread, Thread Moved.

Anyways, this thread has all the information regarding SupCom/FA Unit Textures.

http://forums.gaspowered.com/viewtopic.php?p=230365#p230365

Mike

_________________
God of Models - Moderator
BlackOps Team Twitter

Image


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: 01 Feb, 2013 
 

Joined: 04 Jun, 2011
Posts: 154
Offline
OrangeKnight wrote:
Man, I keep forgetting about this thread, Thread Moved.

Anyways, this thread has all the information regarding SupCom/FA Unit Textures.

http://forums.gaspowered.com/viewtopic.php?p=230365#p230365

Mike


Yup, I read throught that specific message thread previously but it didn't help. I'm a complete newbie to this sort of thing. I need to read up on basic texture concepts. Can you recommend something very basic like one of those For Dummies books? Something very simple that will help me understand "diffuse texture", "colormap", "alpha", "bump maps vs normal maps", "channels", etc.

Keep in mind that all I want to do to start is change the color (not design or create a new texture) of one unit. For simplicity sake, say I have a default unit like a Cybran tank. What buttons should I press in Photoshop or Paint.net so that the unit will now be colored just one color, all grey or all black (I don't care if it'll look ugly). Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: 01 Feb, 2013 
 
User avatar

Joined: 16 Jan, 2010
Posts: 2997
Location: Draconis VII
Offline
Well, all depends on what program your using. If you want it be to monochromatic, or No colours, you can just move the saturation to 0. That will make it all black/grey/white.


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: 01 Feb, 2013 
 

Joined: 04 Jun, 2011
Posts: 154
Offline
brandon007 wrote:
Well, all depends on what program your using. If you want it be to monochromatic, or No colours, you can just move the saturation to 0. That will make it all black/grey/white.


Photoshop or Paint.net is fine. Whichever program that you can provide detailed steps for.

For example if you use Paint.net:
1. On the main menu, click on File, Open and click on the unit file's albedo.dds file...

2. Next click View, Zoom In

3. Click Layers on main menu...

4. To move saturations, select....

5. etc.

To borrow a quote "the devil is in the details". Crossing my fingers hoping you or someone can help...

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic



Quick Tools

Search for:
Jump to:  

© 2002-2010 Gas Powered Games Corp. All Rights Reserved. Gas Powered Games is the exclusive trademark of Gas Powered Games Corp.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
 
Home| Games | Company | News & Press | Support
  Terms of Use   |    Copyright Information   |    Privacy Policy